Why Join Us ? 
“F.K.K.A. Testimonials”
ENTER:   What’s New  ( web site updates ) ... Whats_New.htmlshapeimage_2_link_0
ENTER:   Karate Today  ( home page ) ...Welcome.htmlWelcome.htmlshapeimage_3_link_0
 
Welcome to our testimonial page. The posted testimonials are voluntary reviews, reliable ratings, and generous words and thoughts from the many satisfied customers of Flaherty’s Kenpo Karate. We pride ourselves on the warm and approachable feel of our Karate Association and welcome the thoughts of our students – children, teens and adults - and their families. 
Here at Flaherty’s Kenpo Karate, all participating members, whether past or current, are considered martial arts family members. You will find listed below many testimonials from our satisfied customer base. 
If you would like to offer us a voluntary review or testimonial, please e-mail your story to admin@karatetoday.com. We would love to hear from you and we will post your story on www.KarateToday.com. mailto:admin@karatetoday.comhttp://www.KarateToday.comshapeimage_4_link_0shapeimage_4_link_1
03/08/2017

I have been a student at Flaherty’s Kenpo Karate for several years, eventually earning my Black Belt and title of Instructor. Throughout the years I have had the opportunity of witnessing firsthand the remarkable level of instruction from the Grandmaster himself his dedication to the students, and the great amount of discipline and respect shared by all present at the Academy - Instructors, adult students, kids. and parents.

The training is top-notch; I have seen many kids who started as shy new students - some of them having experienced bullying before - gain confidence and respect for themselves as well as others as their training progressed. Some of the kids have been part of the Academy for years, with their families eventually enrolling their siblings as they get old enough to train. One family has currently four of their children training at the Academy, enrolled one at a time throughout the past eight years.

As an instructor myself, I talk to the parents and ask them for feedback, and their response is consistent: this is a Martial Arts school that is simply great for kids, informative and fun. Adult students also benefit from the vast knowledge and experienced advice offered by the Grandmaster, as well as from the various other Black Belt instructors who have been trained directly under his supervision. If what you are looking for is a reputable Martial Arts School with experienced, knowledgeable, and fun instruction, I definitely recommend Flaherty’s Kenpo Karate Academy.

Barbara G.


11/12/2016

About 4 years ago, my son’s school called me and said he was being bullied by a group of kids. I found out from him it had been happening all year. When I asked him why he never told me, he said he was afraid I would get mad at him. That same day we met Grandmaster Flaherty and his wife Mariana. My nervous, skinny little 10-year-old son who had been wearing glasses since he was 3 agreed to try the free class that day. He has been a student of Flaherty’s Kenpo Karate ever since. Over the years, being a single father, I have had to ask for advice from the Grandmaster and Mrs. Flaherty on more than one occasion. They have always listened and been able to help. My son doesn't get bullied anymore, and has never had to use his Martial Arts training against anyone. Today my son has confidence in himself. He is very respectful, and loves to teach what he has learned to other students. He is a Freshmen in High School and currently has 4 A+s, 1 A, & 1 B, the best grades ever. He will soon be testing for his Junior Black Belt. I am very Proud of my Son, and have watched him grow and mature since we first came to this DOJO. 

Over the years, watching the Grandmaster and his Black Belt Instructors train my son, I, too, have grown. I am no longer the unapproachable guy my son could not come to for help. In addition, I want to give a special thanks to Mrs. Griggs (3rd Degree Black Belt), trained by the Grandmaster. She has been giving private lessons to my son for about 2 1/2 years. She is very committed and loyal to the DOJO and gives back by teaching classes while training for her 4th Degree. 

I highly recommend Flaherty's Kenpo Karate!

Respectfully & Sincerely:
Harvey C.


08/29/2015

Very clean. The owners Mr. & Mrs. Flaherty are awesome & patient with kids of all ages. Best reasonable prices in town. I recommend to everyone.

Theresa R.


09/07/14

Outstanding school! Adorned with the many accolades of Grandmaster Flaherty and his associates, this facility is top-notch. The studio is both bright and clean, and welcomes anyone wishing to learn from one of the best practitioners in the martial arts community. Grandmaster Flaherty, and his staff of black belt instructors do an excellent job of creating an environment that makes learning fun and enjoyable. I have been training now for about 7 months, and am rising through the ranks, thanks to their eagerness to teach, willingness to help, and patience to guide. Everyone is so friendly that as soon as you walk through the doors to join, you immediately feel like part of the FKKA family. If good quality instruction, in a friendly, professional atmosphere is what you’re looking for, I invite you to the perfect place, Flaherty’s Kenpo Karate.

Ben A.


08/21/2014

I have been to two other martial arts studios, and I am proud to say that this is by far the best self defense instruction I have received in comparison to previous instruction. I have been with this academy for approximately three years and recently received my 1st degree. The confidence and knowledge I have gained throughout these years is absolute and unequivocal to what I may not have learned in other schools. Needless to say, the instruction offered here is amazing, and by far I highly recommend those who are ambitious enough to gain the knowledge of martial arts and self-defense. And the rates are fair priced in comparison to the knowledge you gain within one session.

Gianne C.

07/17/2014
My relationship with Grandmaster Flaherty is at its strongest. He has been a great role model to live up to from the beginning. I am always looking to be as nice and respectful as he is to other people. In addition, I want to also be as dangerous as he is. Even though Grandmaster Flaherty has reached his goal of black belt, he makes it his goal to help his students achieve their goals. This generosity that he possesses influences me, because I, too, want to help other students when I’m in the class by teaching them.

Lance T.

07/10/2014
There were several things that would advance my martial arts experience and make me a better martial artist. The first was movement/understanding and flow. The second was a favorite quote of Grandmaster Flaherty, "If I hit you, you will be a better martial artist". We were in a pre black belt session and he was explaining how we have to explode in the red zone and let the moves fly and put everything we have into it. The Grandmaster showed us various punches and asked which one was what we needed to do during our test. The choice was the one with the most energy. The Grandmaster was demonstrating the various punches and unloaded on my chest, accidentally, but as part of the learning. He did not hit me with full power for sure, probably not half power, and I doubt even quarter power, but it did hurt for quite a while. The Grandmaster was naturally upset by the accident and checked on me every day when I came to class. I assured him I was just fine, but took the moment to remind him that I learned several things from that punch. I learned he punches very fast; I learned I have to really use my Ki to reduce the impact of a strike, and I learned what it truly means to be hit in the chest. From being hit by the Grandmaster I did, indeed, become a better martial artist, just as he said.

Robert G.

03/05/2014
Flaherty’s Kenpo is one of the cleanest ran studios I have visited in our area. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They always go above and beyond with hospitality. Instructors are very knowledgeable and it’s nice seeing awards hanging in their studio. Great family friendly atmosphere and have some egar students wanted to learn including my family. They seem to really take pride in their business. I give them an A++! 

Missy J.

02/25/2014
Wanted to say I was really impressed with this Karate studio while I was out seeking info today. The staff was very pleasant and easy to talk to unlike some others. Looking forward to future visits.

Mary E.

11/12/2013
Flaherty's Kenpo Karate Association is an excellent place for your child to learn confidence and focus in a warm and inviting setting. Grandmaster Flaherty's many decades of martial arts study and instruction are on display as he guides the students through the nuances of kenpo and the discipline necessary for success. I brought my son here as a five-year-old after he felt frustrated with soccer. Grandmaster Flaherty was very reassuring and patient, kindly working with him in group and one-on-one settings, his wife--also a black belt--helping with instruction. We have been going to FKKA for about two-and-a-half years now and feel grateful to be part of the family.

Brian D.

11/3/2013
Master Flaherty is a outstanding instructor. He taught me and my children. I am so glad to say that I have met and learned from him. He taught in a way that was easy for us starting out and gave us more challenges as time went on. He definitely built our family's self confidence, strength, and respect for one another. Thank you Master Flaherty for all you did for us.

Diana J.


10/26/2013
My 11 year old daughter has been in this karate school since she was 5 years old. And my other children have attended the school as well, I am very happy with this place everyone is very nice and professional, the dojo is very clean and I am especially pleased and thankful with Miss Griggs she is very nice and professional my daughter loves her classes and working with her. Master Flaherty is also very nice and Marianna is very helpful and happy to help everyone.

Maricela V.

10/18/2013
My 11 year old has been attending this association for 2 years. He has learned the importance of discipline, perseverance, and respect. The instructors are Black Belt trained. They are gentle, and caring. The prices are very reasonable for group and individual classes. They even offer a free introductory class. It's amazing to watch shy kids transform into warriors. My son's instructor is Mariana Flaherty.  She is the best!

Carla P.


10/19/2011

I enrolled my two sons at Flaherty's in August, my oldest is 11 years old and is ADHD. At the time of enrollment he was pulling his hair I'm happy to say he doesn't pull anymore, Kempo Karate has done wonders for him, both of my children love going to class. I highly recommend Flaherty's Kenpo Karate, and it's Master Flaherty.

Anna

9/06/2011
Flahertys Kenpo Karate is a good place to bring your kids to learn discipline, respect and how to become mini Cobra Kais ala The Karate Kid. Ok, wait- that may not be a good thing, but Flaherty's Kenpo Karate IS. Randall Flaherty has been teaching Kenpo Karate for 30 years.  He started his karate school in it's San Jose location 13 years ago and has been in this Stockton location for nearly five years. His patience with the children may just border on infinite (mine however does not). And his staff is friendly.  
Flaherty's Kenpo Karate does not require you to enter into long term contracts, and their pricing is very reasonable. You can even bring your child in for a free class to see if it will be a good fit. They offer classes for all ages. Right now my daughter, who is five, is in the "Tiny Tigers" class, and my son, who is seven, is in the beginners class. Overall, my family is having a good experience here, and I do recommend it to others.

Cassandra N.

July - 2011

I have been a student of Master Flaherty's My entire life. I am his eldest son, My name is Christopher A Flaherty. I’m writing this to express how life changing martial arts has been in my life. The lessons i’ve learned as a child and young adult in my fathers studio have translated into more than just "Self Defense". The clarity of mind & self reliance that was built from years of dedicated practice has allowed me to flourish in my business career. At age 17 I was making more money than my principle in high school providing website placement to customers around the globe. Before I reached the age of 21 I started my first business in Phoenix AZ which I have sense sold. Currently At Age 22 I have started my second business which is leading the internet marketing industry. www.firstplacetoday.com. I know full well I could not have reached such heights in my personal career without the lessons I learned as a Child & Young Adult such As, Patience, Integrity, Self Reliance, Confidence, Attention to Detail, Centering My Mind On My Task and The Overall Buckle Down & Grow Mentality I acquired From Master Flaherty.

I suggest anyone looking to expand on a child's success ratio in life, in combination with the opportunity to learn excellent self defense techniques that are effective and lifelong look to martial arts & Master Flaherty's Studio.

Chris F.



6/21/2011
My son has been a student in Flaherty's Kenpo Karate for over 6 months and he has learned so much. Master Flaherty and the rest of the teachers are the greatest. I can't stress enough how important it is to have your children learn in a positive environment, well this definitely is the place! Kenpo Karate rocks! They teach you well, and cheer you on! It has done wonders for our son, his confidence levels have risen! I strongly recommend that you give Flaherty's Kenpo Karate a try you won't regret it.
Mary Z.

5/13/2011
Flaherty's Kenpo Karate is the perfect environment for anyone who wishes to learn the true knowledge as well the true value of the art of Kenpo. Every single time I enter for training I am extremely hungry to learn not only more of this beautiful art, but more of it's beautiful self defense techniques. Not only do I feel a part of a team, I feel a part of a family. Master Flaherty and all the other instructors and students provide positivity to its max, especially the Master himself. Master Flaherty is not only the greatest instructor to ever provide me with knowledge, but he performs this art so well, that it is as if he created the art of Kenpo alone. I have much training ahead of me, but I know with Master Flaherty being my sensei, he will assist me with reaching limits that are past my old ones. I can assure anyone who joins Master Flaherty's Kenpo Karate will see Karate at its peak, and it's a guarantee that anyone who steps in this environment will become sharper not only physically, but mentally as well. It's an honor to be apart of this great art. Thank you for reading.

Joseph D.

03/20/2011
Awesome...  As the Assistant Instructor of Flaherty's Kenpo Karate Association (FKKA), located in Stockton, I would have to say that this is a great place to learn self-defense, confidence, discipline, and respect for both adults and children. The prices for tuition are very reasonable, there are no contracts, which is nice and hard to find these days. You get Quality training in the art of kenpo from Master Flaherty, a ninth degree black belt, and in my opinion, he is absolutely the real deal. There is training for children from 4-years and up, In addition, Master Flaherty keeps training fun and exciting for the kids and adults as well.
I've been with the Master Flaherty's School of Karate for over 4-years and I have earned the black belt status. If you want somewhere for you or your family to learn martial arts with great instruction at a low cost, then you have found the right place. The school is clean with lots of kicking bags and mirrors, while Master Flaherty provides a safe and ego free environment for people of all ages to learn. Beside the School's Instruction, everyone is friendly and helpful towards each other.  You will feel right at home...

Nelson D.


03/01/2011

It was December of 2007 when we first became acquainted with Master Randall Flaherty. My son Jonathon had decided to learn the art of Kenpo. Due to my extensive travels as a international Christian Minister, I saw an opportunity to spend some quality time with my son, so I joined the Dojo a few months later. I have found Master Flaherty to be a kind, compassionate, giving instructor. As a blessing to me as a International Minister, he has extended all of my class lessons and private instructions free of charge. One thing that impressed me was the Christian atmosphere in which sessions were conducted. I never heard one word of profanity used. All training carried a sense of respect and honor. After 1 year of training, we were called to begin a new church plant work in Santa Rosa. We visited three Kenpo Dojos only to leave disappointed, so we stopped training for 2 years. In July 2010, we were released from the church in Santa Rosa and basically had the choice to move anywhere we chose to. My initial thought was to move close to the San Francisco Airport due to my weekly travels. After prayer I felt to have a family meeting and ask each family member where THEY wanted to live. The unanimous decision was to move to Stockton and one major factor was so Jon and I could resume our Kenpo Training and get our Black Belts under Master Flaherty's fine leadership. Shortly, I plan to be testing for my "blue belt" status and hope to obtain my black belt in a few short years.

We give a "5 Star" review to Karate Today! 

Pastor John A.

03/01/2011

As a middle-aged mother of two, I probably don't fit most people's typical idea of a martial artist; however, I find myself thriving as a successful Karate student at Flaherty's Kenpo Karate in Stockton. I have been attending classes at the Dojo for two years now, as have my two boys, ages eight and eleven, and I feel that the three of us have enormously benefited from the combination of true discipline, respect, and hard work as well as a friendly environment that this outstanding school provides. The owner of the school, Master Flaherty, is the primary instructor and is always present at the Dojo to ensure that the highest level of training is offered at all times. As a helper instructor under Master's Flaherty's supervision, I've had the chance to work closely with him and observe his wide knowledge of the art as well as his professionalism and integrity on many occasions; he is also a very approachable man with a friendly side and a quick smile. I strongly feel that Flaherty's Kenpo Karate school can appeal to all people, men and women, of all ages and in all kinds of physical shape. Whether self-defense training is your primary goal, or you are just looking for a fun and effective way to improve your personal fitness, health, balance, speed, and self-confidence, I urge you to try a free class and see for yourself how easily this school can fit your needs. The best part is that this high level of instruction is offered at a very reasonable price and free of binding contracts, and I'm sure that in these difficult financial times many of us can appreciate that. Flaherty's Kenpo Karate is, in my opinion, truly a school of excellence, and I highly recommend it to all.

Barbara G.

E-mailed on 6/1/2010
Hello Mr. Flaherty,
My son is Tomas M. and he will be spending the summer with me in Modesto. I am happy he is enjoying Karate and from what he tells me your agency is a wonderful place to learn Karate. Is there any way to hold his spot for the next two months. Let me know..
 
Armando M. (SDC Teacher D-14)


UPDATE ON SUCCESS
The Baca family again gives thanks to the F.K.K.A. Staff and instructors alike have continued to be a major influence on Melissa and our lives. 
Master Flaherty is not only a wise and passionate instructor, he is also part counselor and advisor. We come to him with problems large and small. He always has positive and inspirational thoughts that give us a fresh perspective. 
We have come to trust and rely on him to guide Melissa in becoming a honorable and trustworthy person. Melissa was sick for most of the month of September, her strength of character and commitment learned at the F.K.K.A. and home gave her the fortitude to come back and excel.
Melissa’s private lessons are a Godsend. It is worth every penny to have one on one instruction from Master Flaherty. The individual time spent with him cannot be replicated in a classroom. It is priceless. The advantages are visible in every move and technique Melissa performs. 
Private lessons also spill over into everyday life decisions and actions.
Terry B.

11/19/2009
To Master Flaherty:
I entered the doors of Flaherty’s Kenpo Karate Association just thinking about my Senior Project for domestic violence and starting early on my fieldwork hours. However, as I have attended the weekly classes, my purpose for joining FKKA has changed. Now, I want to learn Kenpo Karate not for my Senior Project only, but I also want to be able to defend myself. In addition, I am enjoying the class. It has been of great pleasure being in FKKA. You and your co-instructors, Ms. Pash and Mr. Delcid, have been very helpful and welcoming to me, including the other students. I’ve begun learning Kenpo Karate two months ago, yet I already hold the orange belt. I’ve learned a lot under your command and the help of your co-instructors. 
Learning self-defense techniques has helped me understand the situations that a victim of domestic violence might go through. As what we have agreed to, I was only going to join FKKA until December. However, as days have gone by, I am becoming interested in continuing with my lessons, depending on my work and school schedule as of January 2010. If I am not able to continue, don’t worry. I would be glad to visit the school again. I would also recommend FKKA to any of my younger cousins or any of my friends who are interested in learning self-defense.
I know I have chosen the right place for learning Kenpo Karate that would help me with my senior project. I truly appreciate all the hard work you and your co-instructors have shown through teaching me the right techniques of self-defense. I greatly thank you, Ms. Pash, and Mr. Delcid for the giving opportunity to be able to join FKKA.
Vanessa C.

11/09/2009
This letter is to attest to the person of Mr. Randall Flaherty. I have known Mr. Flaherty for 4 years. He has always been friendly, respectful and very professional. I have interacted with him and his family in business and as a student in his studio. I observed him as being a kind and considerate father, husband, instructor and friend.
Debbie S.

October 2009
Dear Master Flaherty,
My name is Pamela Mannah; I am a Special Education instructor with Lincoln Unified School District. My husband is an instructor with the San Joaquin County Office of Education, and works with the counties at risk students. We are writing to you to express our sincerest thanks for all that you have done for our family.
It was August 2008 when we first signed my son John up for classes in karate. I wanted to let you know that my husband and I chose your studio over the others in town through careful consideration. 
Before we made any kind of decision to attend, we went to observe the instruction styles at several of the other local dojos. Your dojo was by far the most inviting, and caring studio in town. Your style of teaching was open and friendly while at the same time maintained discipline and a high since of integrity. You were very encouraging and nurturing to all of the students and helped develop a sense of accomplishment with every class. Our son moved from the white belt to yellow belt and on to the orange belt requirements very quickly.
It was because of the success we saw with our son, that we decided to join as well. In March of 2009 we began our journeys toward the black belt. At the end of March, my husband and daughter were in a very serious accident and we missed several months of classes to help care for our daughter. As a result our progress had greatly slowed. Still, you were there for us. You continued to encourage us to be the best we could be and even worked with us to create a flexible schedule that suited our current needs.
As part of our daughter’s recovery, you agreed to bring her into our classes and helped us to build up her endurance and balance while we continued with our own lessons. In the short time that we have had Victoria in classes she has come a long way.
We feel very strongly that your teaching style is one that promotes success, pride, and a sense of self-defense with-in all who attend. Our sincerest thanks for all that you do.
Curtis & Pamela M.


10/23/2009
Nothing would please me more than, to talk about Martial Arts and all positive people and things that go with it. My friend and colleague Randy Flaherty, whom I’ve known for over 25 years is one of those, who like to teach Martial Arts to everyone. He has been in the business for many years, and enjoys working with students of all ages. He has a good rapport with the adults and children in the school. Randy is very good at what he teaches. He knows the extent, different as they are, of each person’s learning abilities. Everyone at his school respects and admires him for his patience, generosity, and sincerity.

I appreciate Randy and I’m glad we have a continued friendly relationship.

Ricardo C.


05/01/2009
This is the place to learn karate for adults and kids alike. The instruction is outstanding! I learned more about quality self-defense techniques with speed and reaction training than I did at the three schools/styles where I trained previously. Master Randall Flaherty (owner), and his staff of instructors, give each student personal, professional and friendly instruction to become their personal best. No contracts, very clean facility, and the rates are lower that any other school around.

Bruce C.



12/01/2005 - (letter / testimonial)

    Dear Master Flaherty, I would like to thank you for the privilege of conducting a tournament fighting/instructor training seminar at your school on Saturday November 14th, 2005.
    Out of all the schools and training centers where I have instructed, your school is without a doubt the best I have ever seen! Each and every one of your instructors displayed a genuine interest and concern in helping their individual students rapidly excel to their highest potential. Your system of training is also one of the best I have ever seen: Simple, Highly Effective and Easy To Learn.
    You, your instructors and your students are a credit to the Martial Arts Community, and I would gladly recommend anyone considering studying the Martial Arts or furthering their Martial Arts training enroll in your school!

Professor B. Crary

Additional Information:
Flaherty’s Kenpo Karate is a Karate School. We specialize in Martial Arts, Karate, Karate Classes, Self-defense Classes, Karate Lessons, Martial Arts Instruction, Physical Fitness Programs, Boxing, Kickboxing, Karate Instruction, Women Self-defense Classes, and more.

We are passionate about providing our students with Martial Arts Training that will enhance their lives in every way. Our instructors will properly teach you the techniques appropriate for your concentration, allowing you to develop your skills to their optimal capabilities. If you are looking for a Martial Arts School, Self-defense School, or Boxing Gym, then Flaherty’s Kenpo Karate is the smart choice.

Google+


~ Thank you for viewing ~http://www.firstplacetoday.comshapeimage_5_link_0
Testimonials: